Minutes of Faculty Senate Meeting Thursday, April 23, 2009 Rm 2-91, Ad.Min. ULMisCausipantes exused absencing

Senators Present: Bontty, Dupre, Feldhaus, Grinnell, Hill, Hutto, Jois, Lowe, Matusiak, Nickelson, Owens, Parker, Reid, Rhorer, Steckline, Walker, Wilson

Senators Absent: Chandler*, Campbell, Hare, Jois, Kervin*, Taylor, Wilson*

Handouts available: Agenda, Minutes of the March 19, 2009 FS Meeting, Copy of Cover Letter to SRAC and Suggestions from ULM Creative Solutions Committee document, dated April 9, 2009, and Election Results.

President Rhorer called the meeting to order, at 12:32 p.m. Secretary Steckline called the roll.

The minutes of the March 19, 2009 FS Meeting were approved with one correction to the omission of a syllable in a Senator's name. (Reid/Walker).

Two newly elected Senators were in attendance at this meeting and welcomed—Joe Pankey and John Anderson. **Reports** were given with regard to the FS Executive Board Meeting with the Provost and Deans of March 24, 2009; Election Results were announced/printed by the Elections Committee Chair (see note below); The Faculty Advisory Council (FAC) met in Baton Rouge on March 27, 2009 questioning whether minors constitute programs, noting budget scenarios as they are playing out on the assorted system campuses; President Donna Rhorer reported on the Executive Board <u>process</u> <u>observations</u> of the Provost's Budget Committee—this Committee has met often, usually on Wednesdays, and/or Thursdays, and several iterations of Budget change considerations and rationale's have been presented; She also reported on the three meetings of the "Outside the Box" committee garnered through the FS sponsored Forum on March 31, 2009, noting the recommendations and report put forth by that committee to the Provost, The Strategic Resources Affairs Committee (SRAC), and shared with President Cofer. President Donna Rhorer read a letter from President Cofer thanking the faculty and staff who generated many short-term suggestions regarding budget issues which appeared in that report.

The **FS discussed** a range of budget rumors, the differences in ULM's situation, responses, and concerns and other ULSystem School situations and responses. Emphasis was placed on the fluidity of the situation, the fact that things change daily, and the need for calm, considered responses and strategic timing for legislative lobbying. Web sites for additional information, and suggested system-wide campaigns were noted. The next FAC meeting takes place in Baton Rouge April 24, 2009.

This was the last FS meeting of the academic year, unless there is a called meeting as the State Legislature meets, decides on budget proposals, and news disseminates. Summer contact information for all Senators was solicited as President Rhorer and President-Elect Bruce Walker may feel compelled to involve FS in summer decisions.

The meeting adjourned at 1:47 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

C. Turner Steckline, Faculty Senate Secretary

Election Notes:

Arts and Sciences (163 Members, 10 Seats)

Newly elected: John F. Anderson, Math & Physics (09-11)

Joe Pankey, Agriculture (09-11)

Re-elected: Monica Bontty, History (09-11)

Anna M. Hill, Biology (09-11) Shirlee Owens, Sociology (09-11) Donna A. Rhorer, English (09-11)

Turner Steckline, Communication (09-11) Holly Wilson, Communication (09-11)

Continue: Deborah Chandler (08-10)

Claudia Grinnell (08-10)

Business (44 Members, 3 Seats)

New: Wendy Brown (09-11)

Continue: Michael E. Parker, Finance (08-10)

Bruce C. Walker, Mgmt (08-10)

Education (39 Members, 3 Seats)

Continue: Yolanda Dupre, Counseling (08-10)

Wilson Campbell, Kinesiology (08-10)

Cecil Hutto, Psychology (08-10)

Library (10 members, 1 Seat)

Re-elected: Megan Lowe, Reference (09-11)

Health Sciences (52 Members, 3 Seats)

Re-elected: Linda Reid, Nursing (09-11)

Continue: Kitty Kervin, Nursing (08-10)

Matthew Matusiak, Health Studies (08-10)

Pharmacy (51 members, 3 Seats)

Resigning: Seetharama Jois (08-10)

Newly Elected: Paul Sylvester, Pharmacology, (09-11) Continue: Joseph Feldhaus, Clin & Adm Sci (08-10)

Lance Nickelson, Clin & Adm Sci (replacing Jois, 09-10)